OpenGL

So I’ve started to learn 3D programming with OpenGL. One of my first little programs is demonstrated here:

It’s a little demo that does the same as the dxdiag directdraw bouncing box used to be. Nothing special, just a GL_TRIANGLE_FAN primitive with 4 vertices, moving around. However I enjoyed coding it, so it’s a good start!

I’m learning from the book OpenGL Superbible 5th edition. So far it seems to be a very good read, it starts from the basics and builds up your knowledge. The code examples are also fairly simple: It comes with a small library called GLTools and also it uses GLEW and GLUT, to make work faster and more focused on visible results, instead of writing pages of platform dependent initializing code. I can only recommend it!

Once I am a bit more confident with OpenGL I plan on starting to use Qt to actually display stuff.

Leave a Reply

