Netbeans 8.1 “No tests executed”

Recently I’ve started to learn and practise unit testing in Java using JUnit to improve my productivity and confidence in my own code. Netbeans is quite useful for tests too, because it automates many things while writing and running the tests. However today I noticed something weird: I wrote some tests and I could run them just fine by themselves from the projects widget using the context menuitem “test file”, however when I wanted to “test project” from the run menu, Netbeans said “No tests executed” in the test window. I started digging and unfortunately I couldn’t find anything useful. However I noticed that in all the examples the test classes were called XYZTest, while my test classes are were named TestXYZ. I tried to rename then and guess what? Renaming them solved the problem. So to sum my experiences up:

If you want Netbeans to find and run your test classes name them like this: XYZTest. Where XYZ can be of course an arbitrary string that is legal in a class name in Java.

One response

  1. After much searching, this solved my problem, thanks!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.