Upgrading kdevelop’s valgrind plugin to KF5

I’ve started to upgrade KDevelop’s valgrind plugin ( kdev-valgrind ) to KF5 so that the KF5 version of KDevelop can use it.
In short ‘Valgrind’ is a dynamic analysis tool that allows you to check your programs for memory errors, threading errors in runtime. It also allows you to cache and call profile. So it’s very useful. Without such tools it would be almost impossible to detect and debug these kinds of errors. ( other than reading all the code and spotting it of course )

Kdev-valgrind is a plugin for KDevelop, that integrates some of this functionality into KDevelop. I did not create the plugin I am just merely updating it, because it is very very important to have!

It took me some time, but finally I can compile and load it as the screenshots below will show. All I had to do was basically update it’s cmake project file with the KF5 libraries instead of the KDE4 ones, change some class/call references ( ok, lots of them ), and move away from the deprecated KDE widgets, in favor of the Qt ones. Very soon I will test it througly and then submit my changes for review to the KDevelop guys.

20150310_000002213

20150310_000002212

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.